8 years…and counting..Time, time, time.

Standard

Sorry, I had to take another day off.  It was my 8 year anniversary.  My FB post though said 7 years.  That’s because I’ve never been good with dates.  Ever.  It took me 5 years to get to know my husband’s birthday complete with year.  It took me 4 years to get my anniversary day correct. And the year, that has eluded me as well.  Not very good for a girl.  Aren’t we supposed to remember everything for “important” dates and events.  Not me.  It’s not that every “special day” is just “another day”.  It’s just that for me every day is special…

Now take that as cliche if you want to.  But it’s true.  I grew up a child of poverty.  Every day is a blessing as are the things we get to enjoy in a day.  Time is the most precious gift we can give to each other.  Every day.  Each and every day.  So, for me. I ask myself each night before I go to bed, “Am I happy with how I spent my time today?  With my husband, with my children? If the answer is no, then I strive to make the next day better.  Because, I know that unlike things, the next best gadget, etc. etc. TIME cannot be replaced.  It may be nice to get things, but people crave time and comfort.  Special memories come with the time spent together…not what we received.

I had a friend ask me what I received for my anniversary.  To which I replied, “nothing. The best thing”.  To which they replied, “Nothing is the best thing? “.  For me, it is.  I don’t need one more thing to find a place for.  My most precious gift is the gift of time.  And that is the most precious gift that I can receive.  So, to be fair, I didn’t actually receive “nothing”.  My in-laws gave my husband and I the gift of time by watching our children so that we could have the time to enjoy the beautiful Biltmore Estate.  This has been on my list for a very long time.  My husband gave me this gift of the trip.  Time with him.  To enjoy something I’ve never taken the time to enjoy.

As we pulled in, my husband leaned over and said, “I have a secret.”  I’m thinking “oh, yeah.? It must have shown in my eyes.”  He said, “Yeah.  I bought this place for you.”  🙂  We had the best time imagining a day of if this place was ours for a moment in time.  As we left, we thought about if we could’ve been party crashers back in the day and have crashed the Vanderbilt’s New Year’s Eve Party.  How great would that have been?

Not greater than this day.  Time is so precious.  This memory will live on.  We didn’t buy one souvenir, but we have a treasure of memories from this day.  Sometimes.  Nothing is everything.

4 responses »

  1. Glad you are slicing and have given us several pies… your slice here reminds us all of how important our time with one another really is… Thanks Patty!

  2. This is a great slice, and your message is pretty darn cool. 🙂 I too love the gift of time more than anything else. Congratulations on every single one of your days…they really are all special.

Leave a Reply

