Sigh of Relief

Standard

aaaaaaaaaaaahhhh.  Sigh of relief, relaxation.  With that, I am reminded of the words from Donalyn Miller at last weekend’s Literacy Conference.  She said, “If reading is the inhale, then writing is the exhale.”  This led me to thinking more about the truth of that statement.  Then I had to thinking about what I’ve been inhaling lately (NO! Not that! :0)…

What have I chosen to read?  Not much for myself lately other than professional books, blogs, and articles.  I started reading “The Glass Castle” about a year and a half ago.  I stopped reading it about a year ago.  I did not finish it.  I didn’t have time.  The forever excuse of a mother and an educator.  There just isn’t time to give myself.  Well…there is.  I just didn’t have that time prioritized for me.

Until now.  Tonight, I’m going to finish that book.  For me.  Then, I’ll take your recommendations for my next great read. 🙂

Take some time for yourself.  You deserve it!  Then take your own great sigh of relief.

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a perfect evening plan. I will be reading too, but not a book. The blogs are calling me and I hate to miss out on slices from everyone’s life. Enjoy!

  2. Enjoy! Let us know if you loved this read! My last book I couldn’t put down – I was reading it at stoplights!!!! – was ROOM by Emma Donoghue. And there’s the entire Hunger Games series, and the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and the 2 after it. Enjoy your new reading time. It’s my favorite thing to do!

  3. What a great quote! We do become better writers if we are consistent readers. Hope you liked the book, The Glass Castle – but what a troubling family situation! I have been plugging through Personal History by Katharine Graham for years now. I have to stop and think about all the history as I read. But, like you, I will finish it someday. Thanks for reminding me how important that is.

  4. I hope you enjoyed your book. We don’t take the time for ourselves, do we. I love the quote from Donalyn Miller. I need to read more often. You should post about your reading. What did you notice and like? What children’s books have you been reading with your kids? I’d love to see a post about it.

Leave a Reply

